The conversation
was dotted with intermittent
casual touching
Tracing some part of my knee
you draw circles on my jeans
I place my feet so that they touch the insides of your thighs
Hands touching
on top of the couch
a sudden fleeting kiss
I wipe my gloss
from your lips
slowly tracing
you with my thumb…
speaking of your dreams
my heartbeat’s drowning your words
I can hardly wait
for your loving to begin
…………………………

you keep your distance
as I turn to leave
a distance I can close with a kiss
but I won’t
there is sadness in your eyes
and someone else on your mind
isn’t there?
otherwise why do you
Love the way you do……

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

