window.jpg 

I am confined by
Concrete walls
That close me in
Like a child in a womb
Strange I think
That even after being born
I want to live within
Only now
I go in and out and
Out and in
Returning each day
To this prison I’ve built
With my toil and sweat
I call it home.
Grilled my windows
So no intruder may invade
Locked my doors
It will keep me safe
And each day
Within and without
I go out and in and
In and out
Strange I think
That even after being born
I want to live within

The tabby cat is on the water tank
Outside
Curled up and content
I watch him through my iron bars
I long to touch it
So – I call out
It lifts its head and
Seems to look on in disdain
As if to say
‘strange to be so confined’
he sleeps on the leaves that have dried
Under the tree
Wakes, stretches, curls, and looks away
Rain drops fall
And he scurries away
I laugh
“You are wet and I am not”
He shakes himself under a leaf
Fascinated by the rain drops that fall
Drip! Drip!
Extends his paw to catch it
And shakes it away
Its not so bad to get wet in the rain!!
But
I am confined by
Concrete walls
That close me in
Strange I think
That even after being born
I want to live within
And in and out and
Out and in – I go
A maze have I made for myself
And herein have lost my way
And all this while
The tabby cat
Is free
In the rain
To play.

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

