They were taking them in
plastic bags
the legs
the arms
the heads
Sirens screaming
An ambulance screeching to a halt.
The barber shop
The telephone booth
The cobbler who fixed my shoes
are gone
Just smatterings of flesh
Strewn on the sidewalk
remnants to remind us of
the lives that are gone
I saw them all explode
I was there
Just as I am here now
Just as you are
Hearts stopped
Burst forth from their chests
And reached the sky
in a shower of blood
It was Red – the sky – the blood

The child was about eight
in a pretty blue skirt
A smile on her face
Perhaps the joy of reaching the zoo
But she never did
She had on
one red sock and one blue
She would have wanted to show
it to the monkey thought I
she had on
one red sock and one blue
but she exploded
before that
much much before that
She had on
one red sock and one blue…….
one red sock and one blue…….
Why?

Sashikala Premawardhane

