When I see you
Something signals inevitability
You reach out
Unconsciously almost
Placing yourself so close
And can’t resist the touching
Then you are running away
For fear I may sense
The inevitability that I see in your eyes
When we are together
You make excuses to brush your hand against mine
Or walk so close that
Parts of us touch featherlike

I have decided to stop running
And face you
And my liking of you
Head on
I can feel your fear at my boldness
You think this is desire?
Then how is it
My leaving
Takes the joy out of every moment
And you are melancholic
For no particular rhyme or reason
And why is it
not knowing where I am
And how I spend my day
Leaves you so restless…?

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

