france-aussie-and-tky-349.jpg 

The fifteenth approaches
and sometimes in the middle of something
I remember it’s your birthday
and I toss the thought aside quickly
fearing it might linger
It’s not as if I could wish you
or even buy you cake
these things hardly matter now
then why is it that
when the fifteenth approaches
sometimes in the middle of something
I remember it’s your birthday
and then I think
if I can erase that
and all the glorious birthday memories we made
and your face in the coffin
then the fifteenth of October
would be just another day
and I wouldn’t remember
sometimes in the middle of something
that it’s your birthday

It’s your birthday…….

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

