My cousin brother melted
His wife’s lesbian lover
Had her revenge
Acid

Not knowing how to help
Amma is hysterical
Everyone fears the visit to the burn unit
Everyone
No one wants to see his melting face
The horror of it all
Has sunk
And scorched our hearts

Aunty Kamala can’t look at me straight
She is fanning away the
Flies that hover
Probably thinking
Why my son?
Why me?
His eyelids gone
He is struggling to sleep
Perpetually awake

His five month old baby
Giggles
Hanging on to his burnt arm
Seeking comfort in his warmth
Not caring for his
Frankenstein face
She smiles, in adoration
And looks lovingly into his eyes

He is silent
And speaks nothing
No words of anger
Towards his wife
His mother’s tears
Are soaking up the earth
Like a river
They flow- never faltering

I have no words of comfort to offer
We have never been close
Reaching out
I hold his hand- he clutches
My heart is breaking
Our unspoken pain
Transmits

My father refuses to visit anymore
It hurts too much to see him
His mother must live this nightmare
Over and over again
Every second that she breathes

My cousin brother melted
His wife’s lesbian lover
Had her revenge
Acid

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

