Take them back
Those words you said
That made me believe
In a life with you

Take them back

The way you took
Your hand from mine
Your entangled thighs
And your love

Take them all back

And when you say
“I meant it …. then”
The love you declared
I want to know
Where it all went
The love you felt
For me?

Take them back

And now when you talk
And rationalise
and say “we tried”
I feel the distance
That you force
On me
the hand of friendship
You so generously extend
I want to push away
So you know
That this has hurt me

But I can’t…..and you know that

Take them back
Those words you said
That made me believe
In a life with you

Take them back

The way you took
Your hand from mine
Your entangled thighs
And your love

Take them all back

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

