www.mirisawetiya.org (c)

 

Ancient Mirisawetiya

Stands in all its awe

A globe reaching out to the sky

As if it were a receptor

For communication with the gods

Surrounded by thick jungle cover

It exudes a strange energy

That seeps in to the soul

Little by little

 

As I stood there gazing

Reciting ancient words

that have been spoken

over and over again

by every pilgrim

that has walked this path

I sensed a strange belonging to this land

A connection I have not

Felt before

 

The ground felt familiar

And with each step

I felt rooted

By some energy

Some inexplicable link

As if I have stood here

And done exactly this

Many a lifetime

 

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

