I knew you once
Like I knew myself
Felt it
When you were hurting
When you were happy
When you were thinking
I could read your moods
I knew you once
Like I knew myself

I don’t know who you are today
What you’re feeling
Thinking
Saying
Dreaming
I no longer know you

I put distance between us
So that I can know myself
And who I was with you
Who was I then?
Distance…..so that the hurt will go away
And I could live again
Find peace
Instead
I found a numb place
In my heart
Safe from you

It makes me sad
That you & I will come to nothing
‘cause I knew you once
like I knew myself

I no longer know you
I no longer know me
Do you hear me?
Are you there?

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

