I have this image
in my head
of you and me
sitting side by side
on your black cushioned
cement couch
after love-making –of sorts-

weighing the words
you had blurted out
in the bedroom
you say
“I guess you won’t talk to me anymore”
I smile politely
when I should’ve screamed “You’re right, I won’t!”
I say calmly “I won’t do that”
as If I were the reincarnation of the Buddha
all –loving kindness- full of metta like

I was silently
screaming
for you to stop
feeling sorry for yourself

You had dealt a brutal blow
I am the one
licking my wounds

I left you
seated there
feeling strangely pitiful
at your self-imposed state of pain
Not quite comprehending
what I had let you do to me that night
I let you keep hurting me long after
until it got too much to bear

Things between us
have ended have they?

I’m still screaming
for you to stop.

Sashikala Premawardhane

This is linked to – https://sashisspace.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/drowning/

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.