I’m writing all these words down
‘case I forget
how I felt
those days
when you were
sayin’ all the sweet stuff
to me
‘case I think
I made all this up
in my head
hallucinations
I’m good at that
Boy this ain’t no dream
‘slike the hook in that song “Running (Dying to Live)”

“Why am I dying to live, if I’m just living to die”
na na na- na na na na –na na na- na na na na-

you keep sending me
one line texts
‘are you okay?”
“what happened? how come you’re still around?” *laughter*
I haven’t got the pills
the rope
what I need
ready
“you happy?”
I’ll be gone soon
you’ll be lighting lamps on my grave
Boy this ain’t no dream
laugh all you want
*snap*
and I’ll be gone

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.