Here’s to the 3 hours or so
when you were serious about me
the world’s shortest, long-term relationship

the absolute fear in your eyes
and the fierce fearlessness in mine
has made me realiese
this is madness, on my part,
the readiness to jump
from the highest peak
into the depths below
in one fell swoop
all for the hope
of seeing you
3 hours or so of you
and the long silences that
often accompany
your attempts
at being serious about me
I am willing to risk it all
throwing caution and myself to the wind
notwithstanding
your unreadiness
to receive my love
I am willing to give it anyway

and there lies our disconnect
and yet
our connect
and
our disconnected, connected, Love

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.