I choked back the tears today…..

You didn’t see me
Not once
During your darkest days
I held your soul, gently
Expecting somehow
You would do the same, for me
Be on my side

I choked back the tears, today

Remembering all the times
You didn’t see my pain
Didn’t see me
I became invisible
Once your wounds were healed

I love you, that’s true
I just don’t like you anymore

I choked back the tears, today

When I realized
All that I believed we were
Was just in my head
And you will never hold me close
When I am lost
And in need of love

This realization is incredibly sad

I choked back the tears, today
I will not cry

or struggle to make you see me anymore….

 

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.