The air, that night,
Effusing a mix of frangipani and grass
Was intoxicating
The moon, in its fullness,
Hanging despondent
In a midnight black sky
Radiated a mild glow
On the landscape

Though it has been many years
Many, many, years
Since that night of my blossoming love
When I close my eyes
I still see you
In that light

As I write this
I can see your disdain
At the rose tinted glasses,
With which I look at everything
That concerns you
You’ll dismiss all this as mere fantasy
And say

“you don’t love me, you just think you do”
“ I was drunk that night by the way, that should put you off”

Funny how a little bit of love frightens you so…

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.