[“How’d I get so faded”?]

These dark words of yours
Speaks to me from afar
Sinking into the depths of my despair
Soaring to the heights of your ecstasy
Crowded, dreary, seconds inside my mind,
Pulling me in
Expansive, brilliant, seconds inside yours
Pulling me out
I’m looking for escape
Inside your song
Every note, every lyric, settling in my mind
Inspiring release, from this everyday me,
Pushing through barriers, that defined,
Who I was, seconds before, I heard you on YouTube
and dared me to
redefine my soul….
“How’d I get so faded”?- spoke to me

Sashikala Premawardhane

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

Note: quoted lyrics are from the song bloodstream by Ed Sheeran & Rudimental.

