I found our lives on a 5 minute 26 second video

It took me back

To the pain

I’ve kept, neatly stacked, somewhere

In my soul

In there, you are still 25

I am still 24

Every fibre screaming of young, desperate, love

Us against the world

You’re coursing through every cell

Even decades later

How alive you seem

Inside me

 

Those moments

we spent, long forgotten,

are forever, flowing, somewhere

in my being

They are fireflies, lighting up my, dark and dreary bloodstream

proof beyond the physical existence of you and me

proof that we share

some inexplicable shared destiny

as yet undiscovered,

and as yet, undefined

traveling towards

an unwritten conclusion

You & I

 

Sashikala Premawardhane

 

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

