Why do I need it to have some meaning?

I ask myself everyday

Can’t some of it just be without meaning?

Without sense

Without direction

Just without anything

Just be what it is

Without a tag

Like you and me

We could just be

Why does everything in the world

Have to be labelled

Fall into categories

That most often than not begin and end with ownership

If I remove “my” tags

Father

Mother

Sister

brother

Lover

friend

husband

 

If you were not tagged as mine

Will we still be, what we are?

Will there still be love?

Will you still be on my side?

would it be any different?

This – what we are now-

will you feel

free?

Will I?

 

Sashikala Premawardhane

 

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.